Join #Expochat On Wednesdays at 1pm ET!

 

TSNN is a proud sponsor of #Expochat

#Expochat – Remedies for the Exhibition Industry's #MeToo Moments

sexual harassment

Last month, TSNN Editor-in-Chief Rachel Wimberly posted an eye-opening blog piece. In “Sexual Harassment/Gender Bias Are Major Issues In Trade Show Industry,” she wrote about IAEE’s Women’s Leadership Experience on November 28 during Expo! Expo! During the gathering, 87 percent of audience members responded that they had experienced gender bias at work, while another 83 percent said that they had been sexually harassed.

This is salt in the wound of an industry that, like many others, suffers from wage inequality and few women in the executive suite. So, while the rest of the country is in the midst of a tectonic shift in female empowerment, what should the exhibition industry do to make the future better for women? On this week’s #Expochat, Moderator Michelle Bruno will lead a discussion addressing gender bias, sexual harassment and what the trade show industry can and should do to create safe, equitable work environments and empower women to succeed.

​​​

Questions:

  1. What can we collectively decide is the definition of gender bias?
  2. What should we determine is the definition of sexual harassment?
  3. What is it about the exhibition environment that makes it “uncomfortable” for women?
  4. Where do you go in your organization to report sexual harassment?
  5. What would employee training on gender bias and sexual harassment include?
  6. What should be the role of executives in eliminating unsafe workplaces?
  7. What should be the role of coworkers in promoting safe workplaces?
  8. What role should industry associations play in calling out inappropriate behavior?
  9. Should the exhibition industry lobby for women’s issues in Washington?
  10. What can/should our industry organizations do to empower women?
​​​​​​When: Jan. 17, 1-2 p.m. ET

Where: Use hashtag #Expochat and any Twitter chat tool! (Tweetchat, for example)

NEW: Come to the chat with questions about anything trade show-related. We will use our community to address your issues or maybe even hook you up with some help.

What is #EXPOCHAT?

Expochat is a Twitter-based conversation on topics related to the trade show industry. It takes place most Wednesdays at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time (new time slot) and tackles a single topic each week - a recurring pain point, innovative ideas, evolution of the industry, best practices, and what works. Expochat is alternately moderated by four industry thought leaders: Stephanie Selesnick (International Trade Information, Inc.), Terence Donnelly (Experient), Michelle Bruno (Bruno Group Signature Services) and Michael Doane (CadmiumCD).

Expochat has been reformatted from previous years. The discussion (new format) will last a very fast-paced 30 minutes, followed by 15 minutes during which participants may ask questions of the group on any topic. To participate, sign up on Twitter.com and follow the #Expochat hashtag at the appointed time. Questions will be identified as Q1, Q2, etc. Responses from participants should be written as A1, A2, etc. Tools like Tweetchat.io and others can make it easier to participate. Ideas are welcome on Expochat but commercialism is not.

Trade Show News Network, the leading online exhibition industry news resource, sponsors the chat, and topics are listed in advance on TSNN.com. Reminders will be tweeted out prior to each week's discussion, but if you miss a chat, Storify transcripts will be available on TSNN after each chat. We gladly accept requests for topics at expochat@tsnn.com. Guest moderators are also welcome. #Expochat, now in its fourth year, works because the community supports it. Join us for the best live conversations about the industry that signs your paycheck. Rants welcome!

Missed #Expochat? No Problem!

Check out our past chats:

Jan. 17 – Remedies for the Exhibition Industry’s #MeToo Moments – https://storify.com/michellebruno/remedies-for-the-exhibition-industry-s-meetoo-mome

Jan. 10 – #CES2018 and Its Impact on Trade Shows – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-jan-10-2018-ces2018-s-impact-on-tradeshow

Jan. 3 – 2018 Predictions & Resolutions for the Exhibitions Industry – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/2018-predictions-resolutions-for-exhibitions-indus?utm_campaign=website&utm_source=email&utm_medium=email

Dec. 13 – Crowdsourcing the Best and/or Worst of Expos & Events in 2017 – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-best-worst-in-the-expo-biz-mostly-of-2017#publicize

Dec. 6 – The Pros and Cons of Using Technology at Events – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/leadership-diversity-and-career-goals-expochat-10-

​​​Nov. 15 – Non-Traditional Methods and Strategies for Attendee Growth – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/non-traditional-methods-strategies-for-attendee-gr

​​​​​Nov. 8 – Free Advice for Trade Show Professionals: What to Keep, Start and Stop! – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/free-advice-for-trade-show-professionals-what-to-k#publicize

Nov. 1 – What Could/Should Machines Do in the Trade Show Environment? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/what-could-shouldmachines-do-in-the-trade-show-env

Oct. 25 – Current Political Attitudes and Their Impact on U.S. Exhibitions – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat

​​​​Oct. 18 – Leadership, Diversity and Career Goals – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/leadership-diversity-and-career-goals

Oct. 11 – Experience Design: Is Your Trade Show Ready? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/experience-design-is-your-trade-show-ready

Oct. 4 – Digital Transformation in the Global Exhibition Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/digital-transformation-in-the-global-exhibition-in

Sept. 27 – Disruption in the Event Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/disruption-in-the-event-industry

Sept. 20 – What’s on Tap for IAEE’s Expo! Expo! in San Antonio? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-s-on-tap-for-iaee-s-expo-expo-in-san-antonio

Sept. 13 – Hosted Buyer Events – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-hosted-buyer-events-with-very-special-gue

Sept. 6 – Disaster Preparedness and Recovery – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/disaster-preparedness-and-recovery

April 26 – Tricks of Attendee Acquisition for Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/the-tricks-of-attendee-acquisition-for-events

April 19 – Creating Education that Excites – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/creating-education-that-excites

April 12 – Is Your Event Technology Secure? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/is-your-event-technology-secure

April 5 – Is the Old Conference/Educational Session Model Dead? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/is-the-old-conference-educational-session-model-de

March 29 – How Attendee “Personas” Impact Trade Shows & Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-attendee-personas-impact-trade-shows-events

March 22 - Trends In Exhibition Sponsorships – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/trends-in-exhibition-sponsorships

March 8 - Taking Your Brand Overseas – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-extending-your-expo-brand-by-going-intl

March 1 - Trade Shows and the Gig Economy – https://storify.com/michellebruno/trade-shows-and-the-gig-economy

Feb. 22 - Bringing Up Baby: How to Prepare the Next Trade Show Industry Workforce – https://storify.com/michellebruno/bringing-up-baby

Feb. 15 - How "Green" is the Trade Show Industry, Really? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-green-is-the-trade-show-industry-really

Feb. 8 – Are You Leaning In? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/are-women-in-tradeshows-leaning-in

Jan. 31 – How Might Travel Ban, Changing Trade Pacts Impact Trade Shows? - https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-feb-1-2017

Jan. 24 – How Are Shows ‘Giving Back?’ – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-are-shows-giving-back

Jan. 18 – Using Hackathons to Re-Invent & Grow Your Trade Show – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/using-hackathons-to-re-invent-grow-your-trade-show

Jan. 11 – CES Review - What can we learn from our shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-jan-11-review-of-ces2017-what-expos-can-l

Jan. 4 – New Year’s (Event Technology) Resolutions – https://storify.com/michellebruno/new-year-s-event-technology-resolutions

Nov. 30, 2016 – Is the Trade Show Industry Ready for Artificial Intelligence? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/s-the-trade-show-industry-ready-for-artificial-int

Nov. 9, 2016 – What Makes a Good Leader in Today’s Environment? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-makes-a-good-leader-in-today-s-environment-58238130caffda621fab15e7

Nov. 2, 2016 – TSNN Awards: Education, Inspiration, Celebration – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/expochat-from-nov-2-2016

Oct. 26, 2016 – “Matchmaking: Can Technology Bring Exhibitors More/Better Matches and Leads?” - https://storify.com/michellebruno/matchmaking-can-technology-bring-exhibitors-more-b

Oct. 12, 2016 – All There Is to Know About IAEE's Expo! Expo! – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/we-re-talking-iaee-hq-expo-expo-dec-6-8-in-anaheim#publicize

Oct. 5, 2016 – How Can You Build Community on the Show floor? – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/community-spaces

Sept. 28, 2016 – How Can We Increase International Attendance at Our Shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-international-attendee-acquisition#publicize

Sept. 21, 2016 – Does Gamification Work for B2B Trade Shows? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/does-gamification-work-for-b2b-trade-shows

Partner Voices

As event professionals, our job is to host people and while we can’t prepare for everything, it’s essential to develop an emergency plan that can be adapted to any situation. In Boston, the Massachusetts Convention Center Authority’s (MCCA) Public Safety Team at the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center (BCEC) and the Hynes Convention Center, have taken their experiences to develop a comprehensive crisis management training program, starting with crisis communications.