Join #Expochat On Wednesdays at 1pm ET!

 

TSNN is a proud sponsor of #Expochat

#Expochat – Untraditional Methods and Strategies for Attendee Growth

attendee growth

Trade show organizers need to be more and more creative when growing attendance. The old adage, “Build It (the show) and They Will Come” has been gone a long while. Organizers not only need to retain their existing attendance base, but also seek new attendees that may not have been traditional targets.

Join moderator Terence Donnelly, CEM, with Experient as he leads a discussion focused on what organizers should or shouldn't be doing when it comes to attracting and retaining quality trade show attendees. 

Questions:

1. Why is attendee growth so important today for trade shows?

2. What is the average retention rate of trade show attendees?

3. Which traditional methods of attendee marketing and acquisition are just not working anymore?

4. What are the new emerging strategies and tactics that are boosting attendee growth?

5. How do organizers and marketers find that “new attendee?”

6. Is a strong social media strategy still an important aspect of attendee acquisition?

7. What are some new technologies we have not heard of that impact attendee growth?

When: Nov. 15, 1-2 p.m. ET

Where: Use hashtag #Expochat and any Twitter chat tool! (Tweetchat, for example)

NEW: Come to the chat with questions about anything trade show-related. We will use our community to address your issues or maybe even hook you up with some help.

What is #EXPOCHAT?

Expochat is a Twitter-based conversation on topics related to the trade show industry. It takes place most Wednesdays at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time (new time slot) and tackles a single topic each week - a recurring pain point, innovative ideas, evolution of the industry, best practices, and what works. Expochat is alternately moderated by four industry thought leaders: Stephanie Selesnick (International Trade Information, Inc.), Terence Donnelly (Experient), Michelle Bruno (Bruno Group Signature Services) and Michael Doane (CadmiumCD).

Expochat has been reformatted from previous years. The discussion (new format) will last a very fast-paced 30 minutes, followed by 15 minutes during which participants may ask questions of the group on any topic. To participate, sign up on Twitter.com and follow the #Expochat hashtag at the appointed time. Questions will be identified as Q1, Q2, etc. Responses from participants should be written as A1, A2, etc. Tools like Tweetchat.io and others can make it easier to participate. Ideas are welcome on Expochat but commercialism is not.

Trade Show News Network, the leading online exhibition industry news resource, sponsors the chat, and topics are listed in advance on TSNN.com. Reminders will be tweeted out prior to each week's discussion, but if you miss a chat, Storify transcripts will be available on TSNN after each chat. We gladly accept requests for topics at expochat@tsnn.com. Guest moderators are also welcome. #Expochat, now in its fourth year, works because the community supports it. Join us for the best live conversations about the industry that signs your paycheck. Rants welcome!

Missed #Expochat? No Problem!

Check out our past chats:

Nov. 15 – Non-Traditional Methods and Strategies for Attendee Growth – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/non-traditional-methods-strategies-for-attendee-gr

​​​​​Nov. 8 – Free Advice for Trade Show Professionals: What to Keep, Start and Stop! – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/free-advice-for-trade-show-professionals-what-to-k#publicize

Nov. 1 – What Could/Should Machines Do in the Trade Show Environment? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/what-could-shouldmachines-do-in-the-trade-show-env

Oct. 25 – Current Political Attitudes and Their Impact on U.S. Exhibitions – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat

​​​​Oct. 18 – Leadership, Diversity and Career Goals – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/leadership-diversity-and-career-goals

​​​​​​​Oct. 11 – Experience Design: Is Your Trade Show Ready? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/experience-design-is-your-trade-show-ready

Oct. 4 – Digital Transformation in the Global Exhibition Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/digital-transformation-in-the-global-exhibition-in

Sept. 27 – Disruption in the Event Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/disruption-in-the-event-industry

Sept. 20 – What’s on Tap for IAEE’s Expo! Expo! in San Antonio? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-s-on-tap-for-iaee-s-expo-expo-in-san-antonio

Sept. 13 – Hosted Buyer Events – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-hosted-buyer-events-with-very-special-gue

Sept. 6 – Disaster Preparedness and Recovery – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/disaster-preparedness-and-recovery

April 26 – Tricks of Attendee Acquisition for Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/the-tricks-of-attendee-acquisition-for-events

April 19 – Creating Education that Excites – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/creating-education-that-excites

April 12 – Is Your Event Technology Secure? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/is-your-event-technology-secure

April 5 – Is the Old Conference/Educational Session Model Dead? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/is-the-old-conference-educational-session-model-de

March 29 – How Attendee “Personas” Impact Trade Shows & Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-attendee-personas-impact-trade-shows-events

March 22 - Trends In Exhibition Sponsorships – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/trends-in-exhibition-sponsorships

March 8 - Taking Your Brand Overseas – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-extending-your-expo-brand-by-going-intl

March 1 - Trade Shows and the Gig Economy – https://storify.com/michellebruno/trade-shows-and-the-gig-economy

Feb. 22 - Bringing Up Baby: How to Prepare the Next Trade Show Industry Workforce – https://storify.com/michellebruno/bringing-up-baby

Feb. 15 - How "Green" is the Trade Show Industry, Really? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-green-is-the-trade-show-industry-really

Feb. 8 – Are You Leaning In? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/are-women-in-tradeshows-leaning-in

Jan. 31 – How Might Travel Ban, Changing Trade Pacts Impact Trade Shows? - https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-feb-1-2017

Jan. 24 – How Are Shows ‘Giving Back?’ – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-are-shows-giving-back

Jan. 18 – Using Hackathons to Re-Invent & Grow Your Trade Show – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/using-hackathons-to-re-invent-grow-your-trade-show

Jan. 11 – CES Review - What can we learn from our shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-jan-11-review-of-ces2017-what-expos-can-l

Jan. 4 – New Year’s (Event Technology) Resolutions – https://storify.com/michellebruno/new-year-s-event-technology-resolutions

Nov. 30, 2016 – Is the Trade Show Industry Ready for Artificial Intelligence? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/s-the-trade-show-industry-ready-for-artificial-int

Nov. 9, 2016 – What Makes a Good Leader in Today’s Environment? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-makes-a-good-leader-in-today-s-environment-58238130caffda621fab15e7

Nov. 2, 2016 – TSNN Awards: Education, Inspiration, Celebration – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/expochat-from-nov-2-2016

Oct. 26, 2016 – “Matchmaking: Can Technology Bring Exhibitors More/Better Matches and Leads?” - https://storify.com/michellebruno/matchmaking-can-technology-bring-exhibitors-more-b

Oct. 12, 2016 – All There Is to Know About IAEE's Expo! Expo! – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/we-re-talking-iaee-hq-expo-expo-dec-6-8-in-anaheim#publicize

Oct. 5, 2016 – How Can You Build Community on the Show floor? – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/community-spaces

Sept. 28, 2016 – How Can We Increase International Attendance at Our Shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-international-attendee-acquisition#publicize

Sept. 21, 2016 – Does Gamification Work for B2B Trade Shows? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/does-gamification-work-for-b2b-trade-shows

Partner Voices

When you’re planning your next business meeting or trade show and it’s time to get deals done, there’s one place that has everything for any size group – Las Vegas.

Las Vegas is the place for business and has the perfect space to accommodate even the largest of assemblies. Three of the country’s 10 largest convention venues are in Las Vegas, all part of more than 11 million square feet of exhibit space throughout the city.