2014 The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year Honorees Unveiled

October 20, 2014

Since 2000, The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year awards has been presented by The Expo Group, and this year’s class of honorees has been unveiled.

All of the winners will be feted during a gala awards celebration at the 2014 TSNN Awards: Celebrating Trade Show Excellence Nov. 14-16 in Cleveland.

Congratulations to the 2014 SMOTY winners:

·  Tier I, 150 booths or less: Katie Herritage, CMM, CMP, CSEP of Amazon Web Services, Inc.

·  Tier II, 151-300 booths: Katie Stern of UBM Tech

·  Tier III, 301-700 booths: David Grindle of United States Institute for Theatre Technology

·  Tier IV, 701-1,500 booths: Jeffrey T. Ley of United States Geospatial Intelligence Foundation

·  Tier V, more than 1,500 booths: Susan Newman of National Retail Federation

Each of the honorees will be presented the iconic SMOTY obelisk, as well as a donation will be made to the charity of their choice, continuing a tradition that has resulted in more than $75,000 given to various charitable organizations in honor of SMOTY winners.

"The independent panel of judges struggles annually to choose winners from among the group of smart, talented nominees," said Ray Pekowski, President and CEO of The Expo Group.

He added, "This year was no different, and I continue to be impressed with how all the nominees work to create innovation on their shows and craft fascinating experiences for their attendees, exhibitors and sponsors.”

This year’s judging panel consisted of David DuBois, executive director of the International Association for Exhibitions and Events; Sam Lippman of Lippman Connects; Michael D. Lynn of L-3 Communications, 2014 The Expo Group Exhibit Marketer of the Year award winner; Kendra Nicastro, a previous winner of The Expo Group SMOTY Award; and Rachel Wimberly, editor-in-chief and president of Trade Show News Network.

Any individual responsible for the production of a trade or association show in North America is eligible to win, regardless of any affiliation with The Expo Group. Self-nominations are accepted, as well as those from clients, colleagues and supplier partners.

Visit http://bit.ly/SMOTYAWARDS to meet previous award winners and learn more about the program. Visit http://www.t-awards.com/ to learn more about the TSNN Awards weekend.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Enter the characters shown in the image.

Partner Voices

Las Vegas is home to world-leading tech conferences, such as Amazon Web Services (AWS) re:Invent in late 2021 and CES in January 2022. It’s where the world’s brightest minds once again are coming together – in person – to discuss the very future of tech, digital transformation, and innovations to help people live and work more productively. It’s only fitting that as a destination Las Vegas is transforming the guest experience with unique venue technology ranging from secure hybrid meetings to contactless payments to some of the largest digital screens in the world.