PCMA Education Foundation Names 2018 Officers and Trustees

November 12, 2017
David Peckinpaugh

The PCMA Education Foundation Leadership Committee reviewed an extraordinary group of candidates for the 2018 Board of Trustees. Following committee deliberations and approval by the current Board of Trustees, the slate was deemed elected. Officers and Trustees will immediately take office Jan. 11 following the PCMA annual meeting, Convening Leaders in Nashville, Tenn.


Chair: David G. Peckinpaugh, CMP


Maritz Travel Company

Term: 2018

Chair-Elect: Carol McGury, MPS

Executive Vice President, Events and Education Services

SmithBucklin Corporation

Term: 2018

Secretary-Treasurer: Valerie Sumner


VRS Meetings and Events, Inc.

Term: 2018

Trustees: Douglas Bennett, CASE

2018 - 2019 Terms Senior VP of Convention Development

Louisville Convention and Visitors Bureau

Amy Calvert

Senior Vice President, Convention Sales & Services

Visit Baltimore

Susan Euritt


Ruckus Strategic Partnership Consulting, LLC

Tony Lorenz, CMM

Chief Executive Officer


Charles Starks

President and CEO

Music City Center

Heidi Welker

Senior Vice President, Business Development & Industry Partnerships

Freeman Audiovisual Canada

The following individual will continue to serve on the board, but in a new position:

Immediate Past Chair: Phillip Jones

President and CEO

Visit Dallas

Term: 2018

The following individuals will complete 2017 – 2018 Terms:

Oscar Cerezales

CEO Asia Pacific

MCI Singapore

Jerry Cito

Senior Vice President, Convention Development

NYC & Company

Derrick Johnson, CMP

Director of Meetings

The Council of Insurance Agents & Brokers

Roberta Kravitz

Executive Director

International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine

Angie Ranalli, CMP

Vice President of Sales – Midwest Region

San Diego Tourism Authority

Tammy Routh

Vice President, Global Sales

Marriott International

The following positions are determined by PCMA:

PCMA Appointed Kristin Mirabal, CMP

Trustee: President

Global Event Strategic Solutions

Term: 2017 - 2018

William F. Reed, FASAE, CMP

Senior Director, Meetings and Community Engagement

American Society of Hematology

Term: 2018 - 2019

Trustee – PCMA Claire Smith, CMP

Chair: Vice President, Sales & Marketing

Vancouver Convention Centre

Trustee – PCMA Gregory A. O’Dell

Chair Elect: President and Chief Executive Officer

Events DC

Additionally, the PCMA Board of Directors slate of officers and directors announced on August 30, 2017 has been deemed elected and will take office immediately Jan. 11 following the PCMA annual meeting, Convening Leaders in Nashville, Tenn. Access the complete list of 2018 officers and directors here.

Add new comment

Partner Voices
Overview: The award-winning Orange County Convention Center (OCCC) goes the extra mile to make every day extraordinary by offering customer service excellence and industry-leading partnerships. From their dedicated in-house Rigging team to their robust Exhibitor Services, The Center of Hospitality brings your imagination to life by helping you host unforgettable meetings and events. With more than 2 million square feet of exhibit space, world-class services and a dream destination, we are committed to making even the most ambitious conventions a reality. In October 2023, the Orange County Board of County Commissioners voted to approve allocating Tourist Development Tax funding for the $560 million Phase 5A completion of the OCCC. The Convention Way Grand Concourse project will include enhancements to the North-South Building, featuring an additional 60,000 square feet of meeting space, an 80,000- square-foot ballroom and new entry to the North-South Building along Convention Way. “We are thrilled to begin work on completing our North-South Building which will allow us to meet the growing needs of our clients,” said OCCC Executive Director Mark Tester. “As an economic driver for the community, this project will provide the Center with connectivity and meeting space to host more events and continue to infuse the local economy with new money and expanding business opportunities.” Amenities: The Center of Hospitality goes above and beyond by offering world-class customer service and industry-leading partnerships. From the largest convention center Wi-Fi network to custom LAN/WAN design, the Center takes pride in enhancing exhibitor and customer experience.  The OCCC is the exclusive provider of electricity (24-hour power at no additional cost), aerial rigging and lighting, water, natural gas and propane, compressed air, and cable TV services. Convenience The Center is at the epicenter of the destination, with an abundance of hotels, restaurants, and attractions within walking distance. Pedestrian bridges connect both buildings to more than 5,200 rooms and is within a 15-minute drive from the Orlando International Airport. The convenience of the location goes hand-in-hand with top notch service to help meet an event’s every need. Gold Key Members The OCCC’s Gold Key Members represent the best of the best when it comes to exceptional service and exclusive benefits for clients, exhibitors and guests. The Center’s Gold Key memberships with Universal Orlando Resort, SeaWorld Orlando and Walt Disney World greatly enhance meeting planner and attendee experiences offering world-renowned venues, immersive experiences and creative resources for their events. OCCC Events: This fiscal year, the OCCC is projected to host 168 events, 1.7 million attendees, and $2.9 billion in economic impact.  The Center’s top five events during their 2022-2023 fiscal year included:  AAU Jr. National Volleyball Championships 2023 200,000 Attendees $257 Million in Economic Impact MEGACON 2023 160,000 Attendees $205 Million in Economic Impact Open Championship Series 2023 69,500 Attendees $89 Million in Economic Impact Sunshine Classic 2023 42,000 Attendees $54 Million in Economic Impact Premiere Orlando 2023 42,000 Attendees $108 Million in Economic Impact